CGF to Host the Fourth Annual Rik Massengale Four-Ball Championship

College Golf Fellowship (CGF) and the Texas Golf Association (TGA) are excited to announce the 4th annual Rik Massengale Four-Ball Championship. The prestigious Mira Vista Country Club will host the championship from August 14-16, 2016. The tournament is named after Rik Massengale, a three-time winner on the PGA Tour and former Executive Director of CGF.

In a unique format, the collegiate players will be competing against a few PGA and Tour professionals, plus a few teams of excellent Mid-Am players on a championship golf course. The Mira Vista Country Club is a private, member-owned, world class golf facility designed by PGA Tour winner Tom Weiskopf and Jay Morrish.

2015 Champions with host Rik Massengale.Each year, the Rik Massengale Four-Ball hosts 48 teams, representing colleges all across the United States. Colton Staggs and Matt Mabrey, from Tulsa University, took home the inaugural title, then the mid-am team of Michael Boyd and Lawrence Field (also from Tulsa, OK) won a three way playoff in 2014. Last year, two Sam Houston State golfers, Jesse Massengale (the nephew of Rik Massengale) and his partner Jake McCroy won in style at Boot Ranch Golf Club.

Entries to the 2016 Championship are open to male amateur golfers who are currently on a college golf team roster, or will be in the upcoming fall semester.  The CGF Tournament Committee reserves the right to select teams to be in the field.  The championship will be limited to 48 teams and will consist of 36 holes of four-ball stroke play.  There will also be an unofficial, individual competition for most holes scored under par during the championship.

Find out more about the event and how to register.